The most complete platform for full-cast audiobooks
An AI audio director, casting, score, sound effects, and tools for your own recordings.
Rivals’ websites checked on .

The AI audio director
Martin is Midsummerr’s AI audio director. You tell Martin what you want changed, in plain language, and Martin makes the change in the audiobook editor.
Requests Martin handles
- “Let her whisper the last line.”
- “Add a half-second pause after this line.”
- “Make the music here sparser: solo piano, no percussion.”
Midsummerr is the only audiobook platform with an AI audio director: an agent that takes requests in plain language inside the audiobook editor, as of our check on November 6, 2026.
How we checked
- ElevenLabs: its Studio docs place Studio Agent in video projects, and its audiobook docs mention no agent.
- Wondercraft: its help centre says its agent, Wonda, works in audio and video projects, and its guide lists changing voices and adding music, effects and pauses by chat. Its audiobook page has you pick a voice from a library and mentions neither a full cast nor Wonda.
- Audibound Studio: its pricing lists an “AI Director” without describing it, and we found no plain-language editing on its site.
- Spoken: its tutorial describes an agentic workflow that runs as an automatic pipeline, with manual edits after it.
- AudioProducer.ai and Audimind: we found no such agent on their sites.
Full-cast audiobook platforms compared
Fourteen facts, taken from each rival’s own website on November 6, 2026. “Not stated” means we did not find it on their site, not that they lack it.
| Midsummerr | ElevenLabs | Audibound Studio | AudioProducer.ai | Spoken | Audimind | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AI audio director in the audiobook editor | Yes: Martin | Studio Agent is for video projects, per its docs | Pricing lists an “AI Director”, undescribed; plain-language editing not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Automatic character detection and casting | Yes | Yes, you review the proposed cast | Yes | Detects characters; automatic voice casting not stated | Yes | Detects characters and suggests voices |
| Music | Yes, created automatically | Yes, added by hand | Yes, generated automatically | Yes | Not stated | Added by hand from its library; AI music listed as coming soon |
| Sound effects | Yes, created automatically | Yes, added by hand | Yes, generated automatically | Yes | Not stated | Yes, added by hand |
| One click for cast + music + effects | Yes, on Full Production | Partly: narration after a cast review; music and effects added afterward | Automatic, in a few clicks | Yes | Audiobooks in a click; music and effects not stated | Not stated |
| Line-by-line edit and regenerate | Yes, edits are free | Yes, by paragraph or selected phrase | Not stated | Partly: text editor with pauses and emotions; regenerate not stated | Editable, no regeneration cost; line level not stated | Yes, per segment |
| Narrator’s recording turned into a full cast | Yes, in English and Hebrew | Partly: voice changer on existing audio, by hand | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Assembly of separately recorded actors | Yes | Not stated | Binder joins finished recordings into one M4B; actors not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Yes: records by character, matches clips to the script |
| Screenplay and cue-sheet deliverables | Yes, as CSV and JSON | AAF timeline export; screenplay and cue sheet not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Scripts as DOCX; cue sheet not stated |
| Languages | 56 | 90+ | Not stated | Not stated | 74 | Not stated |
| Retail-ready export | Yes: masters built to the ACX spec, levels measured | Partly: MP3 or WAV; ACX and M4B not stated | Yes: M4B | Yes, by its description; formats not stated | Yes, by its description; formats not stated | Partly: MP3, or WAV on paid plans; retail spec not stated |
| Built-in distribution | No | Yes: ElevenReader, Spotify, INaudio | Lists nine retailers; who submits not stated | No, per its FAQ | Names partners such as INaudio; who submits not stated | Listed as coming soon |
| Human or managed production | Yes: Director-Led | Yes: ElevenLabs Productions | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Price for a 90,000-word novel | $450 with cast, music and effects; $337.50 cast only; $135 single narrator | $0 to about $200 per book, its own estimate, in credits | $259 for about 70,000 words; $349 for about 100,000 | Not stated | $540, or $270 plus $50/month (Multi-Cast) | Paid plans from $19/month, by credits; per-book price not stated |
Other pages checked: ElevenLabs audiobook docs · ElevenLabs Studio docs · Audibound pricing · audibound.com · Spoken pricing · Spoken tutorial · Audimind pricing · Audimind docs.
Midsummerr’s column comes from our own product: see features, pricing and production services.
Where others lead
We call Midsummerr the most complete platform for full-cast audiobooks, and others still lead on these facts.
ElevenLabs
90+ languages against our 56, and built-in distribution through ElevenReader, Spotify and INaudio.
Spoken
74 languages against our 56.
Audimind
Goes deeper on a house’s own recordings: recording by character, matching clips to the script, checks for misreads and omissions, and team task routing. It has no AI music yet; its docs list that as coming soon.
Audibound Studio
A full cast, score and sound effects in a few clicks, with distribution-ready M4B files and its own list of retailers.
Kindle Virtual Voice, Google Play Books, Apple Books
Free, with distribution, without full-cast production. Kindle’s is an invite-only US beta, and Google’s no-charge offer is for a limited time.